The geology of the Dun Mountain Subdivision, Nelson

(Inc. GST)
(Ex. GST)
Write a Review

Bell, J.M.; Clarke, E. de C.; Marshall, P. 1911 The geology of the Dun Mountain Subdivision, Nelson. Wellington: Government Printer. New Zealand Geological Survey bulletin 12 71 p.

Abstract: The Dun Mountain Subdivision comprises the survey districts of Waimea and Maungatapu, situated in the Nelson Land District, and covers 205.90 square miles. The determination of the nature and extent of the copper deposits, which occur in ultra-basic igneous rocks in the valley of the Roding River and elsewhere, was the main object for undertaking this geological survey. A careful examination of the area covered by these ultra-basic igneous rocks (the so-called ''Mineral Belt'') for other minerals of economic value, and more especially chrome ores, was also considered desirable. The arrangement and extent of the seams of brown coal occurring in the area were, prior to the commencement of the work, matters of uncertainty, and the determination of these points seemed an additional reason for undertaking the survey. (auth/EB)