The geology of the New Plymouth Subdivision, Taranaki Division

(Inc. GST)
(Ex. GST)
Write a Review

Clarke, E. de C. 1912 The geology of the New Plymouth Subdivision, Taranaki Division. Wellington: Government Printer. New Zealand Geological Survey bulletin 14 58 p.

Abstract: The New Plymouth Subdivision, comprising the survey districts of Paritutu and Waitara, covers an area of approximately 218.2 square miles. Near New Plymouth a large amount of money has been spent during the last forty years in attempts to obtain, by boring, a payable supply of mineral oil, the existence of which in small quantities has been recognized since the earliest days of European settlement. Transport facilities, ownership of properties, and other fortuitous circumstances have usually been the determining factors in the choice of bore sites, and little or no attempt has been made to unravel the geological structure of the country and to arrive at general conclusions as to the probable distribution of the petroleum. The investigations detailed in this report were undertaken with the object of supplying such geological knowledge as would enable further oil-prospecting to be carried on in an intelligent and systematic fashion. (auth/EB)