The geology of the Cromwell subdivision, western Otago division

(Inc. GST)
(Ex. GST)
Write a Review

Park, J. 1908 The geology of the Cromwell subdivision, western Otago division. Wellington: Government Printer. New Zealand Geological Survey bulletin 5 92 p.

Abstract: The area dealt with in this report extends from Bendigo to Cromwell, and from Cromwell to Bannockburn, and thence along the valley of the Kawarau to Gibbston, Double Cone, Crown Terrace, and the headwaters of Soho Creek. It includes the west side of the Dunstan Mountains, the south-west half of Pisa Range, the north-east side of Carrick Range, and the north end of the Remarkables, embracing within its limits the survey districts of Wakefield, Cromwell, Bannockburn, Crown, and Kawarau, in the Otago Land District. The work undertaken during the summer of 1906-7 included an examination of the physical features and surface-forms of the district, of the geological structure, of former glaciation, of the nature and extent of the gold-bearing drifts, coal deposits, and metalliferous lodes, of the soil, and water supply. Special attention was directed to the collection of data bearing on the probable existence of artesian water in the old lake-basins of Central Otago. A special examination was made of the Bendigo and Carrick Range gold-bearing lodes, and of the Bannockburn coalfield. (auth/DG)