Geology of Waipara Subdivision (Amberley and Motunau sheets S68 and S69)

(Inc. GST)
(Ex. GST)
Write a Review

Wilson, D.D. 1963 Geology of Waipara Subdivision (Amberley and Motunau sheets S68 and S69). Wellington: Department of Scientific and Industrial Research. New Zealand Geological Survey bulletin 64 122 p.

Abstract: The Waipara Subdivision includes many sections that have become classic in New Zealand geology because of the excellent sequences of Late Cretaceous and Tertiary rocks. It includes Grey and Teviotdale survey districts and parts of Waipara, Waikari, Stonyhurst, and Rangiora survey districts. The total area is 320 square miles. The subdivision comprises three topographic units. The Western Highland includes Mount Grey Range (3055 ft) and Doctors Range (Trig. K, 2106 ft). The lowest passes through the Western Highland are the water gap cut by the Waipara River and the wind gap known as Weka Pass. The Central Lowland is a gravel plain forming the northern extension of the Canterbury Plain. The Coastal Range (highest point Mt Cass, 1718 ft) extends north-east from near Amberley to the northern margin of the subdivision. (auth/EB)